closeup of device with harting branding
HARTING MICA™ Developments
21. May 2017
symbolic image for secombo vpn
Secure networking with secombo VPN
21. May 2017

LoRa ™, LoRaWAN and other IoT wireless networks

Closeup of LoRa enabled device

LoRa

The Long Range Wide Area Network, or LoRaWAN, is a low-power wireless network protocol designed for Internet communications (IoT). The LoRaWAN specification is freely available and uses the proprietary modulation technology LoRa ™. This technology is designed to achieve a high range (> 10 km), a good building penetration and above all a high energy efficiency of the IoT devices at the expense of a relatively low data transmission rate. The latter should reach a battery life of up to 15 years. In addition to LoRaWAN, there are further radio technologies, such as e.g. Sigfox and Narrowband IoT (NB-IOT) with similar advantages as LoRa.

With these properties, LoRa is especially suited for energy management. The "IoT devices" are usually energy meters or environmental sensors, which are integrated into a holistic energy management system in a cost-effective, reliable, safe and long-term manner can. This ultimately leads to an increase in transparency and thus the containment of further potential savings. By eliminating the need for costly cabling, this technology is equally interesting for industry, retail and facility management.

LoRa is suitable both for continuous energy management in the minute's range and for cyclic meter readings. Since LoRaWAN can be covered in freely usable frequency ranges (433 MHz and 868 MHz) and, moreover, with a small number of gateways (radio base stations), the wireless network opens up new, attractive business fields to energy suppliers, public services, and measurement service providers.

Krumedia GmbH already has experience in the successful integration of various LoRa components into a holistic energy management system up to the smart grid. This includes the establishment of a separate gateway infrastructure and the secure connection of the devices to service platforms such as Energy management systems. If IoT devices leave their own private LoRa network, a combination of private LoRaWAN networks and nationwide LoRa network operators (for example, Loriot, Actility or Digimondo) makes sense. Also, the combination of LoRaWAN and other networks, e.g. Sigfox is of course possible.

It is self-evident that our energy management system enerchart already supports IoT networks in many ways. Immerse yourself in the Internet of Things, with krumedia you have the right partner at your side.

English

HARTING MICA™ Entwicklungen
21. Mai 2017
Sichere Vernetzung mit secombo VPN
21. Mai 2017

LoRa™, LoRaWAN und andere IoT-Funknetze

LoRa

Das Long Range Wide Area Network, kurz LoRaWAN, ist ein Low-Power-Wireless-Netzwerkprotokoll, das für Kommunikation im Internet der Dinge (IoT) entwickelt wurde. Die LoRaWAN-Spezifikation ist frei verfügbar und nutzt die proprietäre Modulationstechnik LoRa™. Diese Technik ist darauf ausgelegt, auf Kosten einer relativ niedrigen Datenübertragungsrate eine hohe Reichweite (>10 km), eine gute Gebäudedurchdringung und vor allem eine hohe Energieeffizienz der IoT-Geräte zu erreichen. Letztere soll eine Batterielaufzeit von bis zu 15 Jahren erreichen. Neben LoRaWAN existieren weitere Funktechnologien wie z.B. Sigfox und Narrowband IoT (NB-IOT) mit ähnlichen Vorteilen wie LoRa.

Mit diesen genannten Eigenschaften ist LoRa in Besonderer Weise für das Energiemanagement geeignet: bei den genannten „IoT-Geräten“ handelt es sich meist um Energiezähler oder Umweltsensoren, die dank dieser innovativen Funknetze sehr kostengünstig, zuverlässig, sicher und langfristig in ein ganzheitliches Energiemanagement eingebunden werden können. Dies ermöglicht letztendlich eine Erhöhung der Transparenz und somit die Eingrenzung weiterer Einsparpotenziale. Durch den Wegfall einer meist teuren Verkabelung, ist diese Technologie für Industrie, Handel und Facility Management gleichermaßen interessant.

LoRa eignet sich sowohl für kontinuierliches Energiemanagement im Minutenbereich als auch für eine zyklische Zählerfernauslesung. Da LoRaWAN in frei nutzbaren Frequenzbereichen liegt (433 MHz und 868 MHz) und überdies mit einer geringen Anzahl Gateways (Funk-Basisstationen) ganze Stadtgebiete abgedeckt werden können, eröffnet das Funknetz Energieversorgern, Stadtwerken und Messdienstleistern neue, attraktive Geschäftsfelder.

Die krumedia GmbH besitzt bereits Projekterfahrung in der erfolgreichen Einbindung verschiedener LoRa-Komponenten in ein ganzheitliches Energiemanagement bis hin zum Smart Grid. Hierzu zählen der Aufbau einer eigenen Gateway-Infrastruktur und die sichere Anbindung der Geräte an Service-Plattformen wie z.B. Energiemanagementsysteme. Verlassen IoT-Geräte das eigene, private LoRa-Netz, so ist eine Kombination von privaten LoRaWAN-Netzen und bundesweiten LoRa-Netzbetreibern (z.B. Loriot, Actility oder Digimondo) sinnvoll. Auch die Kombination von LoRaWAN und anderen Netzen wie z.B. Sigfox ist natürlich möglich.

Es ist selbstredend, dass unser Energiemanagementsystem enerchart bereits IoT-Netze vielfältig unterstützt. Tauchen Sie ein in das Internet der Dinge, mit krumedia haben Sie den geeigneten Partner an Ihrer Seite.

Deutsch